McCallie’s Ralph Potter Among Finalists For Titans High School Coach of the Year

McCallie School staff 2019. Headshot photography by Dan Henry /

(Press Release) NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Titans announced today nine finalists for the team’s annual High School Coach of the Year award. The award recognizes high school football coaches who continuously demonstrate excellence in their profession, dedication to their football programs and focus on the safety and character of their players. Their team’s regular and postseason performance is also taken into consideration.

Finalists are as follows:

- Advertisement -
  • Trey Adams (12-1): Evangelical Christian School, Cordova
  • Tony Brunetti (14-0): Pearl Cohn High School, Nashville
  • Marty Euverard (8-4): Montgomery Bell Academy, Nashville
  • Derek Hunt (14-0): Maryville High School, Maryville
  • Shane Jacobs (14-0): Peabody High School, Trenton
  • Ralph Potter (10-2): McCallie School, Chattanooga
  • Josh Puckett (14-0): Lake County High School, Tiptonville
  • Bryson Rosser (12-2): Knoxville Central High School, Knoxville
  • Shawn Witten (14-0): Elizabethton High School, Elizabethton


The High School Coach of the Year award winner will be announced following the conclusion of the 2019 BlueCross Bowl. He will receive a grant in the amount of $2,000 to benefit his football program, as well as an all-expense paid trip to the 2020 Pro Bowl in Orlando, FL.

The team’s award winner automatically qualifies for the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year award, honoring high school football coaches that display the integrity, achievement and leadership exemplified by the coach with the most wins in NFL history, Don Shula. The Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year award winner – announced in January – receives $10,000 and his high school football program is awarded $15,000.

The Titans’ High School Coach of the Year award is an extension of the High School Game of the Week and Coach of the Week programs. Each Coach of the Week (11 total) received a grant from the Tennessee Titans in the amount of $1,000 to benefit his school’s football program. All 12 award winners – 11 Coach of the Week winners and the Coach of the Year – will be recognized during the Titans vs. Saints game on Sunday, December 22.

Through the Coach of the Week program, the Titans have donated more than $220,000 in grant funding to high school football programs across the state.


Previous articleFour charged in fatal drug overdose case
Next articleCFC Make Coaching Changes With Assistant Peter Fuller Becoming New Head Coach
Rick Nyman grew up in Anniston, Alabama and attended the University of Alabama. His television career started at WJSU-TV in Anniston where he had the opportunity to cover SEC football with Alabama and Auburn. Anniston is just 20 minutes from the Talladega Speedway, so NASCAR was a big part of his sports coverage. Due to this he was able to interview Davey Allison, Dale Earnhardt, Jeff Gordon, and several other top-name NASCAR drivers. Rick's next television job was in Savannah, Georgia, where he covered basketball player Kwame Brown (now with the Washington Wizards), who later became the first ever high school player selected as the top pick in the NBA draft. He covered the PGA Tour's annual swing thru Hilton Head and also had the opportunity of covering the Atlanta Falcons Super Bowl appearance in 1999 in Miami. Rick especially enjoys all the atmosphere, tradition and drama of college football. He also likes profiling sports personalities and learning what drives them both on and off the field. If he's not covering sports, he's either watching Seinfield or David Letterman, playing golf, reading, or working out. What he enjoys about Chattanooga is the passion people have for sports. The mountainous region of Chattanooga reminds him of his hometown of Anniston, which also has big, beautiful trees and plenty of hills. You can contact Rick at